UP Election 2017: Filing of nominations for sixth phase begins, polls on 4 March

Lucknow: Nominations for the sixth phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh started on Tuesday morning with the issuance of notification for 49 seats spread across seven districts of the eastern part of the state bordering Nepal and Bihar.

Representational image. AFP.

Representational image. AFP.

"The notification for the sixth phase has been issued and nominations have started at 11 am," the office of the UP Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) said. The districts going to polls in the sixth phase are Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Azamgarh, Mau and Ballia.

The polling in this phase will be held on 4 March while 14 February will be the last date for filing of nominations.

While scrutiny of papers would be done on 16 February, candidates can withdraw their candidature till February 18. The number of eligible voters for the sixth phase of election is around 1.72 crore, including 94.60 lakh male and 77.84 lakh female voters, who will exercise their franchise in 17,926 polling booths.

In the 2012 Assembly polls, of the 49 seats, 27 were won by the SP, 9 by BSP, 7 by BJP, 4 by Congress and 2 by others. The notification for the seventh and final phase for elections to 40 seats will be issued on 9 February.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 07, 2017 13:10:00 IST

Also See