IPL 2019: MS Dhoni's undisputed mastery behind the stumps to Andre Russell's all-round brilliance, stand-out stats from the league

  • Umang Pabari
  • May 14th, 2019
  • 17:39:56 IST

Mumbai Indians (MI) became the first team to win four IPL titles and Rohit Sharma became the first player to be part of five IPL winning teams as Mumbai Indians defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in Hyderabad with the joint-narrowest win margin by runs (1 run) in an IPL final.

It was the combined effort of Jasprit Bumrah, Rahul Chahar, and Lasith Malinga that aided Mumbai to trump CSK for the fourth consecutive time this season. Shane Watson’s knock of 80 runs went in vain as Mumbai denied MS Dhoni the 100th victory as a CSK captain in IPL.

There were many records created and broken throughout this IPL season. Let’s look at some of the standout stats from the 12th edition of the league.

Imran Tahir now holds the record of taking most wickets among spinners in an IPL season — 26 in 2019.


Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) took only 56 wickets in IPL 2019, the least by a team in a single season of IPL.


No wicketkeeper has now effected most dismissals than MS Dhoni in IPL — 132.


Lasith Malinga is the only player who has taken more than 30 wickets against a team in IPL — 31 against CSK.


Mujeeb Ur Rahman now holds the record of conceding most runs among spinners in an IPL match.


David Warner hit nine fifty-plus scores in this season of IPL — the joint second-most for any player.


Only three players were able to hit a fifty in less than 20 balls in IPL 2019 — Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant and KL Rahul.


Andre Russell became only the second player after Chris Gayle to hit 50-plus sixes in an IPL season.


David Warner is one of the five players to have hit five consecutive 50-plus scores in T20 cricket. He achieved the feat during IPL 2019.


David Warner has amassed 829 runs against KKR at an average of 43.63 and a SR of 147.77 — the most by any player against an opposition.


Ashton Turner is the only player in T20 cricket to bag five consecutive ducks.


Andre Russell is the proud holder of the following record.


Updated Date: May 14, 2019 17:39:56 IST

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

also read