Bellary Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 LIVE updates: BJP's Y Devendrappa wins

Bellary Lok Sabha Constituency

Constituency number: 9

Total Electors: 14,87,945 (2014 estimates)

Male Electors: 7,50,789

Female Electors: 7,37,156

Assembly Constituencies: Hadagalli (SC), Hagaribommanahalli (SC), Vijayanagara, Kampli (ST),Bellary (ST), Bellary City, Sandur (ST), Kudligi (ST)

Reserved: Yes. For Scheduled Tribes

Delimited: Yes. In 2008. The constituency was reserved for Scheduled Tribes.

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: The constituency entered the annals of Indian electoral history when Sonia Gandhi defeated Sushma Swaraj to enter the Parliament. She soon vacated the seat, leading to a by-election which was won by the Congress. In 2004 elections, G Karunakara Reddy of the BJP won the seat. In 2009, J Shanta of the BJP won the seat before making way for B Sriramulu in the 2014 elections. In the 2018 by-poll, VS Ugrappa of the Congress defeated J Shanta by 2.4 Lakh votes.

Demography: Known for its mining industry, Bellary is one of the few constituencies in Karnataka where tribals form a sizeable chunk of the electorate. Since it borders Andhra Pradesh, a significant number of Telugu speakers too are an important factor in the constituency.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: May 23, 2019 21:12:49 IST