Kerala State Film Awards 2016: Manhole, Vinayakan, Rajisha Vijayan sweep top honours

FP Staff

Mar,07 2017 17:56 33 IST

Vidhu Vincent's critically acclaimed film Manhole has bagged the Best Film award at the Kerala State Film Awards 2016. The film addressed the social issue of the Arunthathiyar caste being subjected to manual scavenging on the basis of their caste.

A still from Manhole

A still from Manhole

The film was screened at the International Film Festival of Kerala 2016 and loved for its perspective as the story was told through the eyes of a 12th standard girl.

Santosh Babusenan and Satish Babusenan's social drama Ottayal Paatha, loosely translated as 'The Narrow Path', was adjudged as the second best film in the Kerala State Film Awards, as reported by Manorama.

Ottayal Patha revolves around the difficult relationship of a crippled father and son who live in a slum. The film was screened and appreciated at the Mumbai Film Festival and the Cairo International Film Festival (CIFF).

The Best Actor award was bagged by Vinayakan who played a man from a backward caste in Rajiv Ravi's crime drama Kammatipaadam. Rajisha Vijayan received the Best Actress award for her portrayal of Elizabeth, the love interest of Abhi, played by Asif Ali, in Khalid Rahman's Anuraga Karikki Vellam.

Find below the list of winners at the Kerala State Film Awards 2016.

Best Film - Manhole

Second Best Film - Ottayal Paatha

Best Director - Vidhu Vincent for Manhole

Best Actor - Vinayakan for Kammatipaadam

Best Actress - Rajisha Vijayan for Anuraga Karikki Vellam

Best Story - Salim Kumar for Karutha Joothan

Best Character Artiste (Male) - Manikandan Achari for Kammatipaadam

Best Character Artiste (Female) - Kanchana PK  for Olapeepi

Best Music Director – M Jayachandran for Kambhoji

Best Background Score – Vishhu Vijay for Guppy 

Best Singer -  Sooraj Santhosh for 'Thaniye'  from Guppy

Best Female Singer -  KS Chithra for 'Nadavathil' from Kambhoji

Best Cameraman -  M J Radhakrishnan for Kaadu Pookkunna Neram

Best Original Screenplay – Shyam Pushkaran for Maheshinte Prathikaram

Best Debut Director -  Shanavas K Bavakkutty for Kismath

Published Date: Mar 07, 2017 17:56 PM | Updated Date: Mar 07, 2017 17:56 PM