Co-presented by

UP Election Results 2017: Grand welcome awaits Narendra Modi at BJP headquarters on Sunday

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address a rally of party workers at the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) headquarters on Sunday, party president Amit Shah said on Saturday, hours after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) claimed a landslide victory in Uttar Pradesh. BJP has scripted history by returning to power in Uttar Pradesh after 14 years. The imminent victory triggered widespread celebrations all across the country's most populous state as well as at the BJP headquarters in Delhi.

 UP Election Results 2017: Grand welcome awaits Narendra Modi at BJP headquarters on Sunday

Narendra Modi. PTI

According to results available (till 4 pm) on Saturday, the BJP had won 161 seats and was leading in 148 out of 396 constituencies in the 403-member Assembly in a stunning showing leaving their rivals far behind. The BJP, which had just 47 seats in the outgoing Assembly, garnered nearly 40 percent vote share, in the most riveting contest seen as a gamechanger and a virtual referendum on Prime Minister Narendra Modi's popularity and demonetisation.

Earlier Narendra Modi had said,"The Samajwadi Party and the BSP are two sides of the same coin, the former being A (Akhilesh) SP and B (Bahujan) SP," Modi said.

He also said that Akhilesh and Rahul were "delicate" people incapable of taking hard decisions while pitching himself as a grassroots leader who can develop the state. Taking potshots at the Congress over its run of losses in
the recent polls, he said one day, research would be done to find out if it once existed, as it is "disappearing from everywhere."

Home Minister Rajnath Singh said, "We thank all the people of Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand for this historic victory and express gratitude towards them." This, he said, was not a victory but a "mega victory". "The BJP has changed the political picture of the country by touching the new era of success in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand," he tweeted.

BJP candidates were ahead of their rivals in all five assembly constituencies of Ghaziabad district. As counting progressed, BJP's Nand Kishore Gurjar was leading by over 6,000 votes over his rival Zakir Ali of Bahujan Samaj Party.

As the Samajwadi Party, the Congress and the BSP licked their wounds, BJP leader and central Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad called the win in Uttar Pradesh bigger than the 2014 victory.

With inputs from Agencies

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 16:06:30 IST