TTV Dhinakaran takes oath as member of Tamil Nadu Assembly, disqualified MLAs, other supporters present at ceremony

Chennai: Sidelined AIADMK leader TTV Dhinakaran (name also spelled as Dinakaran), who secured an emphatic win in the 21 December RK Nagar bypoll, was on Friday sworn-in as member of the Tamil Nadu Assembly.

He succeeds former chief minister J Jayalalithaa as legislator of the city segment.

The newly-elected MLA was sworn-in as a member of the 15th Assembly by Speaker P Dhanapal in his office.

Dhinakaran's supporters, including some disqualified MLAs and key aides like Thangatamilselvan and P Vetrivel, were present on the occasion.

Dhanapal later shook hands with Dhinakaran.

The bypoll was necessitated due to the death of Jayalalithaa who was the sitting MLA.

Dhinakaran trounced his nearest AIADMK rival E Madhusudhanan by over 40,000 votes.

Sidelined by the ruling camp a few months ago, Dhinakaran contested as an Independent candidate from the constituency.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Dec 29, 2017 15:43:26 IST