Goa Election 2017 Results: Here's how the parties fared in the state polls

The state of Goa is moving towards a hung Assembly. The state has had a history of hung Assemblies. The incumbent chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar has lost from Mandrem by over 3,000 votes, while his deputy Francis D'Souza has won from Mapusa. Another BJP leader and prospective chief ministerial candidate Michael Lobo has won from Calangute constituency.

From the Congress camp, the Leader of Opposition Pratapsingh Rane has won from Poreim. Former chief minister Digambar Kamat won from the Margao constituency, while Congress candidate Dayanand Sopte defeated the incumbent chief minister in Mandrem.

With hung Assembly looming large, the support of Independents and smaller parties like the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, Nationalist Congress Party and Goa Forward party will play a key role in forming the next government.

Here are the final party-wise results in Goa.

PARTY 2012 2017
BJP 21 13
Congress 9  17
AAP N/A  0
MGP 3  03
Others 7  07
Total Seats 40 40

Follow the live updates on Goa election results here.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on https://www.firstpost.com/firstcricket/series/icc-cricket-world-cup-2019.html. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 19:37:03 IST