BMC Election 2017: Nine held for vandalism during counting in Nashik

Nashik: Nine persons were arrested following an incident of stone-pelting and ransacking of vehicles that led to a delay in counting of votes at a ward in the Nashik civic body, police said on Friday. Six policemen and some locals were injured in incident, police said.

Representational image.

Representational image.

The police also had to fire some rounds in the air to disperse a mob of BJP and Shiv Sena supporters who clashed outside the Meenatai Thackeray stadium, where counting of votes for ward no. 3 was in progress yesterday, they said.  BJP city chief and MLA Balasaheb Sanap's son Machhindra Sanap was declared elected from group A of ward no 3 during the vote counting on Friday.

However, some Shiv Sena activists alleged that the EVMs showed excess votes than actually polled in the ward. This led to a clash between Sena and BJP workers, who also pelted stones and vandalised some vehicles, including a police van, forcing the poll officials to stop the counting of votes at the centre. The incident led to tension outside the counting centre in Panchavati area's Hirawadi locality.

Six policemen and some locals were injured in incident, police said. Police then lathi-charged and fired some rounds in the air to disperse the clashing mob, Panchvati police station incharge Dinesh Bardekar said. Top police officials, including Nashik Commissioner of Police Ravinderkumar Singal rushed to the spot and the situation was brought under control, Bardekar said. Subsequently, nine persons were arrested and booked under relevant sections, police said.

Finally, from ward no 3 of the Nashik Municipal Corporation, the BJP candidates were declared elected in groups A, B and D while Sena's nominee won in group C.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 24, 2017 13:48:01 IST

Also See