Delhi chief electoral officer Vijay Kumar Dev appointed chief secretary after Anshu Prakash transfers to Centre

New Delhi: Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Vijay Kumar Dev has been appointed as the chief secretary of the national capital, an official order said.

The Ministry of Home Affairs had Thursday issued the order appointing the 1987-batch IAS officer of the AGMUT (Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram and Union Territory) cadre. Dev will succeed Anshu Prakash following his transfer to the department of telecommunications in the Central government.

File image of Vijay Kumar Dev. ANI

File image of Vijay Kumar Dev. ANI

Prakash, who was allegedly assaulted at Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's residence in February, has been appointed as additional secretary in the telecom department. The outgoing chief secretary had claimed that some Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) lawmakers, in the presence of Kejriwal and his deputy Manish Sisodia, had thrashed him leading to a standoff between the Delhi chief minister and the bureaucrats.

Dev will hold the post of chief secretary superseding 1986-batch IAS officer Manoj Parida who is currently serving as additional chief secretary (home) and principal secretary in the Public Works Department (PWD).

"With the approval of the competent authority, it has been decided to appoint Vijay Kumar Dev, IAS (AGMUT:1987) as Chief Secretary, Government of NCT of Delhi with effect from the date of joining till further orders," the ministry said in its order. Dev has also served as Chandigarh UT adviser and is currently posted as CEO of Delhi, his second stint as the top official in the poll body.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Nov 23, 2018 14:10:57 IST

Also See