IIFA 2017: Karan Johar is the only member in Best Director category to have been nominated before

FP Staff

Jul,14 2017 16:51:41 IST

Karan Johar has been nominated thrice for the IIFA Awards (Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham, My Name Is Khan — for which he won the award too — and Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna), and won once, but this year, he's the only director in the nominee list to not be a debutant.

All the other nominees — Neeraj Pandey, Abhishek Chaubey, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury and Ram Madhvani — are first timers.


Meanwhile, some of Johar's contemporaries (and those who have also been nominated at the IIFA awards in the past) like Rakesh Roshan, Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra and Sanjay Leela Bhansali, are nowhere in 2017's roster of nominees.

Is this it for the Bhansalis and Hiranis of the world? We think they're going to be back with a bang.

Updated Date: Jul 14, 2017 16:51 PM