Co-presented by

Mumbai Marathon 2017 Highlights: Alphonce Simbu wins men’s elite; Kheta Ram, Jyoti Gawte fastest Indians

Auto Refresh Feeds


Mumbai Marathon 2017 Highlights: Alphonce Simbu wins men’s elite; Kheta Ram, Jyoti Gawte fastest Indians
  • 10:57 (IST)

  • 10:47 (IST)

  • 10:28 (IST)

  • 10:24 (IST)

    Here's Jyoti Gawte's crossing the finish line 

  • 10:13 (IST)

    Here are the winners of Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon 2017:

    Alphonce Simbu from Tanzania wins men's elite
    Bornes Kitur from Kenya win women's elite
    Kheta Ram and Jyoti Gawte are the fastest man amd woman from India

  • 09:58 (IST)

    Here's Bornes Kitur's winning moment

  • 09:57 (IST)

    Jyoti Gawte comfortably in the lead among Indian women as she nears the finish line 

  • 09:55 (IST)

  • 09:55 (IST)

    Kheta Ram crosses the finish line

  • 09:54 (IST)

    Kenya's Bornes Kitur is the unchallenged women's elite champion

    The 21-year-old from Kenya notched up an impressive and virtually uncontested win with a personal best time. 

  • 09:47 (IST)

  • 09:47 (IST)

  • 09:43 (IST)

    Kheta Ram is the fastest Indian, as Bahadur Singh comes second and Sanjith is third.

  • 09:41 (IST)

    The winning moment for Simbu

  • 09:39 (IST)

    Kheta Ram leads the pack among Indian men as they near the finish line at the Mumbai Marathon 

  • 09:38 (IST)

    Mumbai Marathon champion Simbu: I followed the strategy set by my coach, to come from behind; very happy to have won

  • 09:35 (IST)

  • 09:33 (IST)

    What a finale!

    Tanzania's Alphonce Simbu is the champion, as Kenya's Joshua Kipkorir comes second after an intense, neck-to-neck battle.

    Kipkorir broke the deadlock early on and opened up the field, but the last-gasp burst from Simbu in the closing minutes, coupled with a lapse from the Kenyan, meant that the Tanzanian won the 14th edition of the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon. 

  • 09:30 (IST)

    Tanzania's Alphonce Simbu set for victory in a dramatic finale 

  • 09:28 (IST)

    Alphonce Simbu takes the lead as Joshua Kipkorir falls back.

    This is going to the wire!

  • 09:26 (IST)

    Kipkorir and Simbu engaged in an intense battle as the finish line nears.
    The Mumbai Marathon is in for a thrilling finale! 

  • 09:23 (IST)

  • 09:19 (IST)

    Kipkorir and Simbu neck-to-neck in the lead as the climax of the elite pack nears.
    Only about 4 kms and 15 minutes to go. 
    Who will come out on top?

  • 09:14 (IST)

  • 09:14 (IST)

  • 09:11 (IST)

    Big turnaround

    A big turnaround in the elite pack as 22-year-old Joshua Kipkorir takes the unexpected lead.
    “He broke the field apart,” say commentators as the Kenyan moves ahead with what can be a possible personal best. 

  • 09:09 (IST)

    The Dream Run has begun

  • 09:05 (IST)

  • 09:04 (IST)

  • 09:03 (IST)

    Joshua Kipkorir takes the lead 

  • 08:58 (IST)

    Amarjeet Singh Chawla, the visually challenged, 62-year-old runner, finishes his Half Marathon in Mumbai

  • 08:56 (IST)

    The Dream Run is about to get underway

  • 08:51 (IST)

    Why I run: Four marathoners on what drives them to go the distance; before SCMM 2017}

    A day before Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon 2017, we got four individuals who've been regulars at the event to answer a question for us: "why they run"

  • 08:44 (IST)

    Here are the women's elite winners of the Half Marathon 

  • 08:40 (IST)

  • 08:40 (IST)

  • 08:34 (IST)

    Here are the elite men winners of the Half Marathon 

  • 08:31 (IST)

    Michael Mutai leads at the half way mark 

  • 08:27 (IST)

    Mumbai Marathon 2017: Why Shailendra Mohan, the Go-Pro armed runner is running this weekend}

    You can experience the rush and exhilaration of the Mumbai Marathon via Shailendra Mohan, as he will be running with a GoPro camera to record the journey.

  • 08:23 (IST)

    Olympic champion, Kenya's David Rudisha, is in the city to cheer all the runners. 

    He talks about the Kenyan contenders, being an Arsenal fan, buying a kurta in India and how he hopes to run a road marathon some time in the future after his retirement from track and field. 

  • 08:15 (IST)

  • 08:11 (IST)

    Here are the Champions With Disability

  • 08:09 (IST)

  • 08:09 (IST)

  • 08:08 (IST)

    The elite runners have reached the Bandra Worli Sea Link now, as the race clocks 45 minutes. 

  • 08:05 (IST)

    Mumbai Marathon 2017: Meet some inspiring and interesting runners set to go the distance on Sunday}

    The 14th edition of the Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon will take place on Sunday, 15 January and is set to witness more than 40,000 runners in various categories.

  • 08:04 (IST)

    A centenarian, a visually-challenged man, a 54-year-old mother of two, a group of monks.
    Take a look at some of the inspiring and interesting runners at the Mumbai Marathon: 

  • 08:01 (IST)

    Meanwhile, the elite race has reached the Haji Ali area

  • 08:00 (IST)

    Good luck to the golden seniors! 

  • 07:58 (IST)

    Time for the Senior Citizens

    The Senior Citizens race is all set to begin at 8 am, an the enthusiasm at the start line is palpable. 

Mumbai: Ethiopias Ayele Abshero along with Dinknesh Mekash, a two-time winner in Mumbai, will lead the elite field at the 14th edition of the Mumbai Marathon on 15 January.

Abshero is the fastest man on the start-line (2:04:23).

Joining the best in the world will be top Indian athletes -- Olympian Kheta Ram, M.D. Yunus and Elam Singh as well as Jyoti Gawate, Monica Raut and Monica Athare -- who will take centrestage and vie for the top honours.

This time, the event will have an all-time high with 6,342 runners registering for the full marathon.

The half marathon and dream run saw 14,663 and 19,980 entries, respectively.


Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Jan 15, 2017 10:57:40 IST