With Mehbooba's arrival, India now has 5 women chief ministers

New Delhi: With Peoples Democratic Party leader Mehbooba Mufti taking over as chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir on Monday, the number of women CMs in the country has gone up to five.

The other chief ministers are J. Jayalalithaa (Tamil Nadu), Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), Vasundhra Raje (Rajasthan) and Anandiben Patel (Gujarat).

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti. ANI

Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti. ANI

Tamil Nadu and West Bengal are facing assembly polls and Jayalalithaa and Banerjee are leading the poll effort of their parties in their respective states.

Raje and Patel belong to the Bharatiya Janata Party. Together, the five women chief ministers constitute less than a sixth of all chief ministers in the country.

The representation of women has been poor in assembly elections. Only 87 of 1,064 candidates in Monday's first phase of polling in Assam for 65 seats are women.

In the first part of the first phase of West Bengal assembly election on Monday for 18 seats, there are only 11 women among 133 candidates in the fray.

Updated Date: Apr 05, 2016 00:05 AM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See