Uttar Pradesh Election Results 2017: Rajnath's son Pankaj Singh wins Noida seat

The Bharatiya Janata Party is poised for an unprecedented win in Uttar Pradesh, a state where it has been power starved for almost 15 years.

Proving wrong fears of a hung Assembly in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP, with its aggressive campaign led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is leading in 312 of the 379 seats.

The ruling Samajwadi Party and its ally Congress trailed at a poor second spot (54 seats) while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) was gasping at 19 seats.

But put aside the individual issues ailing and propelling the respective parties, the UP Assembly elections were also a star-studded affair, with bigwigs like Union Minister Rajnath Singh's son Pankaj Singh in Noida and UP's tainted minister Gayatri Prajapati in the fray.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh's son Pankaj Singh won the Noida assembly seat for the BJP, defeating his nearest rival Samajwadi Party candidate Sunil Choudhary by a margin of 1,04,016 votes.

Thus to put things in perspective, Firstpost has compiled a quick list of heavyweights winning/ losing in their respective constituencies.

Candidate Constituency Party Status
Azam Khan Rampur SP Won
Abdullah Azam Khan Suar SP Won
Rita Bahuguna Joshi Lucknow Cantt BJP Won
Aparna Yadav Lucknow Cantt SP Lost
Sidharth Nath Singh Allahabad West BJP Won
Shrikant Sharma Mathura BJP Won
Garima Singh Amethi BJP Won
Gayatri Prajapati Amethi SP Lost
Kunwar Jitin Prasada Tilhar Congress Lost
Laxmikant Bajpai Meerut BJP Lost
Raja Bhaiya Kunda Independent Won
Amanmani Tripathi Nautanwa Independent Won
Shivpal Yadav Jaswantnagar SP Won
Mukhtar Ansari Mau BSP Won
Swami Prasad Maurya Padrauna BJP Won


Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 18:51 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See