Sponsored by

Shiv Sena wants Muslim leaders to take rational stand on 'triple talaq'

Mumbai: Citing Haji Ali Dargah Trust's 'progressive' decision to grant women full access to the shrine's sanctum sanctorum, the Shiv Sena on Tuesday urged Muslim leaders to display their rational capacities on the issue of 'triple talaq' as well.

It said that its time that the Uniform Civil Code is viewed from a "positive perspective" rather than adopting a rudimentary approach over the issue.

"The change of stand by the (Haji Ali) Trust may have opened doors of the Dargah for Muslim women, but they have a difficult path ahead. Countless Muslim women are waiting to be freed from the shackles of age-old customs in the name of religion," the Sena said in an editorial in party mouthpiece 'Saamana'.

 Shiv Sena wants Muslim leaders to take rational stand on triple talaq

Representational image. Reuters

Generations of women have been deprived of the right to live a dignified life, and are plagued with the menace of triple talaq and are forced to concede to 'fatwas' from religious leaders, it said.

"Muslim women are scrunched under the burden of old thoughts with men still wanting to hold the reins. The Haji Ali Trust's stand is a welcome step. Now, Muslim leaders need to show similar rationality on issues like triple talaq as well," the Sena said.

"Rather than seeing the Uniform Civil Code as cruelty towards Muslims, it should be seen from a positive perspective. With this, not only Muslim women, but the entire community will automatically get included in the mainstream," it said.

On Monday, the Haji Ali Dargah Trust told the Supreme court that women will be given access to the core area of the Muslim shrine here at par with men, and sought four weeks to make the requisite infrastructural changes to facilitate their entry.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Oct 25, 2016 17:47:40 IST

Also See