Punjab Election 2017: Only six women MLAs in newly formed Assembly, down from 14 in 2012

Chandigarh: Only six of the 81 women candidates managed to secure a place in the 117-member Punjab Assembly, merely five percent of the House's strength.

Three women leaders each of the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) romped home. In the 2012 assembly polls, 14 out of the 93 women nominees had made it to the House.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

Among the lucky ones are AAP's Rupinder Kaur, who won Bathinda rural seat, Sarvjit Kaur (Jagraon) and Prof Baljinder Kaur (Talwandi Sabo) and Congress's Aruna Chaudhary (Dinanagar), Satkar Kaur (Ferozepur rural) and Razia Sultana (Malerkotla).

Yet, from eight women candidates in 1967, when the first election after the re-organisation of Punjab was held, to 93 in the 2012 polls, the state has come a long way.

The Congress routed SAD-BJP alliance in the polls, ending the 10-year rule of the Badal family.

Among women leaders, Congress's Arun Chaudhary won by the biggest marging — 31,917 votes and Rubinder Kaur Rubu emerged victorious with the lowest vote (10,778) difference.

A transgender candidate, Mumtaz of the BSP, from Buchho Mandi in Bathinda district polled 1,137 votes and lost.

Updated Date: Mar 12, 2017 11:19 AM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See