Nagaland Assembly polls: BJP-NDPP alliance fails to secure majority; here is the complete winners list

The Assembly election in Nagaland delivered a fractured verdict with no party or pre-poll alliance having a majority. The BJP-NDPP alliance failed to secure a majority in Nagaland, with the state throwing up a hung Assembly.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

The ruling NPF, which emerged as the single largest party, extended an invitation to the BJP join the new dispensation, though the BJP-NDPP combine may be able to form a government with help from smaller parties like NPP, JD(U) and an independent. The saffron party got an informal invitation from NPF leader and chief minister TR Zeliang to join the new government.

The NPF is the single largest party in the state with 27 seats. The BJP-NDPP combine has also won 27 seats and are leading in one each.

The NPP, a North East Democratic alliance partner of the BJP, has won two seats, and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's JD(U) one. If the BJP-NDPP alliance wins the two seats where their candidates are leading, its tally would go up to 32, two more than the magic figure of 30.

The BJP had parted ways with the NPF just ahead of the polls and joined hands with the newly launched NDPP of three-time former chief minister Neiphiu Rio, also an old Naga People's Front hand.

Zeliang, the NPF leader, said his party continued to be a part of the North-East Democratic alliance led by the BJP and hoped the saffron party will form the new government with it.

Though there was no official word from the BJP on whether it would be a part of the NPF-led government, Shah had told a press conference in New Delhi that the number of states under the saffron party's belt has gone up to 21 from 19.


Here is the full list of winners for the Nagaland Assembly elections:

Constituency Winning Candidate Winning Party Trailing Candidate Trailing Party Margin
Aboi Eshak Konyak Indian National Congress Awan Konyak Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 693
Akuluto Khekaho Indian National Congress K Khekaho Assumi Naga Peoples Front 1983
Alongtaki Dr Benjongliba Naga Peoples Front Dr Benjongliba Aier Naga Peoples Front 1491
Angetyongpang S.Chuba Longkumer Independent Alemtemshi Jamir Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 412
Aonglenden Imtikumzuk Indian National Congress Toshipokba Naga Peoples Front 971
Arkakong Nuklutoshi Naga Peoples Front Shri Imnatiba National People's Party 1450
Atoizu Picto Independent Kl Chishi Bharatiya Janata Party 3284
Bhandari Mmhonlumo Nationalist Congress Party Achumbemo Kikon Naga Peoples Front 254
Chozuba Chotisuh Sazo Naga Peoples Front Kudecho Khamo Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 6401
Dimapur-i Tovihoto Ayemi Naga Peoples Front Pukhavi Yepthomi Naga Peoples Front 1838
Dimapur-ii Tovihoto Ayemi Naga Peoples Front Pukhavi Yepthomi Naga Peoples Front 1838
Dimapur-iii Si Jamir Indian National Congress Supulebten Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 1615
Ghaspani-i N Jacob Zhimomi Independent Z Kasheto Yeptho Independent 1032
Ghaspani-ii Zhaleo Rio Naga Peoples Front Dr Kevingulie Khro Naga Peoples Front 2388
Impur Dr Imtiwapang Aier Indian National Congress T N Mannen Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 2525
Jangpetkong Longrineken Naga Peoples Front Et Sunup Naga Peoples Front 156
Kohima town N Jacob Zhimomi Independent Z Kasheto Yeptho Independent 6711
Koridang Imkong L Imchen Naga Peoples Front T Chalukumba Ao National People's Party 5735
Longkhim chare A Imtilemba Sangtam Bharatiya Janata Party Muthingnyuba Sangtam Naga Peoples Front 1459
Longleng  S Pangnyu Naga Peoples Front Y B Angam Phom National People's Party 4235
Meluri Yitachu Naga Peoples Front Z Nyusietho Nyuthe Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 5551
Moka EE Pangteang Naga Peoples Front K. Kiko Konyak Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 4825
Mokokchung town C Apok Jamir Indian National Congress C Apok Jamir Naga Peoples Front 47
Mon town N Thongwang Naga Peoples Front Y Mankhao Konyak Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 274
Mongoya Merentoshi R Jamir Naga Peoples Front Alemtemshi Jamir Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 4683
Noklak P Longon Naga Peoples Front  H Haiying Bharatiya Janata Party 3305
Noksen CM CHANG Naga Peoples Front  W Chingmak Chang Naga Peoples Front 1092
Northern angami-i Khriehu Liezietsu Naga Peoples Front Dr Kekhrielhoulie Yhome Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 2160
Peren T.R.Zeliang Naga Peoples Front Iherie Ndang Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 2636
Pfutsero Neiba Kronu Naga Peoples Front Thenucho Naga Peoples Front 687
Phek Kuzholuzo Nienu Naga Peoples Front Kupota Khesoh Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 3888
Phomching Pohwang Naga Peoples Front K Konngam Konyak Naga Peoples Front 2437
Pughoboto Y. Vikheho Swu Naga Peoples Front Dr Sukhato A. Sema Bharatiya Janata Party 2286
Pungro kiphire Torechu Naga Peoples Front T Yangseo Sangtam Janata Dal (United) 4545
Sanis N.Thomas Lotha Independent Ramongo Lotha Janata Dal (United) 1570
Satakha G Kaito Naga Peoples Front Zheito Chophy Naga Peoples Front 7168
Seyochung sitimi Shri. C. Kipili Sangtam Naga Peoples Front C Kipili Sangtam Naga Peoples Front 3399
Shamator chessore Toshi Wungtung Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party R Tohanba Naga Peoples Front  2914
Southern angami-i Vikho-O Yhoshu  Naga Peoples Front Medokul Sophie National People's Party 4492
Southern angami-ii Kropol Vitsu Naga Peoples Front Zale Neikha Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 5451
Tamlu Bs Nganlang Janata Dal (United) B Phongshak Phom Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 1878
Tapi Noke Naga Peoples Front N Aphao Konyak Janata Dal (United) 2679
Tehok Cl John Naga Peoples Front Er C Kawang Konyak Bharatiya Janata Party 7891
Tenning Namri Nchang Naga Peoples Front Namri Nchang Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 1148
Thonoknyu L Khumo Khiamniungan Nationalist Congress Party S Heno Khiamniungan Naga Peoples Front 1307
Tizit P Paiwang Konyak Bharatiya Janata Party Y Wangto Konyak Independent 2976
Tobu Naiba Naga Peoples Front N Bongkhao Konyak Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 2237
Tseminyu ER Levi Rengma Independent R Khing Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 768
Tuensang Sadar-i Toyang Changkong Chang Independent T Mongko Chang Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 2272
Tuensang Sadar-ii Kejong Chang Naga Peoples Front H Zungkum Chang Nationalist Congress Party 2272
Tuli Amenba Yaden Independent L Temjen Jamir Janata Dal (United) 2749
Tyui Y Patton Naga Peoples Front Yankithung Yanthan Naga Peoples Front 5540
Wakching YM Yolow Independent MC Konyak Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 1815
Western Angami Kiyanilie Peseyie Naga Peoples Front ER Kevisekho Kruse Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party 1000
Wokha Dr Tm Lotha Nationalist Congress Party Y Mhonbemo Humtsoe Janata Dal (United) 1482
Zunheboto S Hukavi Zhimomi Indian National Congress Hukavi Zhimomi Naga Peoples Front 277

With inputs from agencies

Updated Date: Mar 03, 2018 23:11 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See