Manipur Election Results 2017: BJP, Congress need support from other parties to gain majority to form govt

The final results for the Manipur Assembly Election are out and the bitter battle between the contesting parties over issues plaguing the state is over. Congress has come out on top with 28 seats in the 60-seat Manipur Assembly. It requires 3 more seats to gain a majority and form government in the state.

The Bharatiya Janta Party is not far behind, and it has secured 21 seats in the 60-seat Assembly. The party needs 10 more seats to gain majority. This can be achieved by getting the other parties, which have secured 11 seats collectively, like Naga Peoples Front (NPF), National People's Party (NPP), Lok Jan Shakti Part, etc.

Party Seating 2017 Manipur

The Manipur state Assembly went to polls on 4 and 8 March with a re-poll done in 34 stations in eight districts on 9 March. Manipur has a 19,02,562-strong electorate comprising of 9,28,573 male and 9,73,989 female voters. There were around 45,642 new voters this time.

Representational image. Photo courtesy: Amukhomba Ngangbam

Representational image. Photo courtesy: Amukhomba Ngangbam

All eyes were on Thoubal constituency, the home of chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh, who was competing with People's Resurgence and Justice Alliance's Irom Sharmila and BJP nominee Th Jadumani. Singh won Thoubal in 2012 and 2007.

What the exit polls predicted:  The CVoter exit poll had predicted historic gains for the BJP in Manipur, giving them between 25 and 31 seats, while estimating that the Congress would nab between 17 and 23 seats and the Today's Chanakya exit poll gave the Congress 15 seats.

However the India Today - Axis My India poll estimated that the Congress would win 30 to 36 seats in Manipur and the BJP would win between 16 and 22 seats.

How the parties fared last election : In 2012, the Indian National Congress, under the stewardship of chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh had won 42 seats, followed by All India Trinamool Congress 7, Manipur State Congress Party (MSCP)  5, and Naga Peoples Front 4. This is a sea change for the BJP, as in 2012, they had absolutely no footprint in the state. What a difference five years makes.

Major parties who contested

Congress: Manipur had been a Congress stronghold for over a decade, thanks to the leadership of Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, a savvy political operator. The previous Assembly election, held in 2012, resulted in a landslide victory for the Congress, giving them 42 seats and allowing Okram Ibobi Singh to be re-elected as chief minister for an unprecedented third consecutive term.

Candidate Constituency Result
Okram Ibobi Singh Thoubal  won
TN Haokip Saikot  won
Moirangthem Okendro Heirok  lost
Okram Surjakumar Khangabok  won
Gaikhangam Gangmei Nungba  won
Ngamthang Haokip Saitu  won
Abdul Nasir Lilong  won
I. Hemochandra Singh Singjamei  lost
Th Debendra Singh Jiribam  lost
Kangujam Ranjit Singh Sugnu  won
Kh. Ratankumar Singh Mayang Imphal  lost
Ak. Mirabai Devi Patsoi  won
Govindas Konthoujam Bishnupur  won

Bharatiya Janata Party: The BJP, buoyed undoubtedly by its success in last year's Assam elections, had been upbeat about its chances in Manipur. It had not officially declared a face for the state. The BJP fielded former ministers N Biren Singh, Yumkham Erabot Singh and Francis Ngajokpa, and MLAs Dr Kh Loken, Z Kikhonbou Newmai and Nemcha Kipgen in the Assembly elections.

Candidate Constituency Result
Th.Chaoba Singh Nambol  lost
N. Biren Singh Heingang  won
Yumkham Erabot Singh Wangkhei  lost
Somatai Shaiza Ukhrul  lost
Thounaojam Ranabir Singh Jiribam lost
Konthoujam Krishna Kumar Bishnupur  lost
V Hangkhanlian Churachandpur  won
SS Olish Chandel  lost
Leitanthem Basantha Singh Thoubal  lost

People's Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA): All eyes were on Irom Sharmila's PRJA, who, in their mission statement, aspired to build a "self-reliant economy for Manipur". The party, in its initial weeks, tried to cast itself in the mould of the Aam Aadmi Party. Just like Arvind Kejriwal had done with AAP five years ago, the PRJA also took up the cause of corruption.

Candidate Constituency Result
Irom Sharmila Chanu Thoubal  Lost
Najima Bibi Wagbai  Lost
Erendro Leichombam Thangmeiband  Lost

All India Trinamool Congress: The AITC contested in 24 seats. In the 2012 Assembly polls, the AITC had bagged seven seats, but later all of its MLAs switched sides joining either the Congress or the BJP.

Naga People's Front: The Naga People’s Front is a regional party which is in power in Nagaland with support from the BJP and is seen as a political force competing with Meitei and Kuki identity politics.

With inputs from agencies

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 21:16:29 IST

Also See