associate sponsors


Manipur Election 2017: State observed record voter turnout surpassing 2012 numbers

On 4 March, in the first phases of the Assembly Elections, Manipur witnessed a record turnout of 86 per cent for the 60-seat state assembly .

It witnessed a record turnout of 86 per cent in the second and last phase of polling in 22 Assembly constituencies, the highest since 2009 general elections.

The repoll in 34 polling stations in three districts in Manipur, which was held on 9 March, recorded an 89 per cent voting.

Manipur Chief Electoral Officer Vivek Kumar Dewangan said, "89 per cent polling was recorded at the end of the repoll in 34 polling stations."

Representational image. Photo courtesy: Amukhomba Ngangbam

Representational image. Photo courtesy: Amukhomba Ngangbam

The Election Commission had ordered a repoll in 27 polling stations spread across 22 Assembly constituencies where election was held in the second phase on 8 March following complaints of electoral malpractices.

"The percentage of males who voted today was 84 per cent. Female voter turnout was 89 per cent. There was no boycott of polling reported," Jain said.

The state had recorded overall 79.80 per cent turnout in 2012.

The official said that 16 electronic voting machines and 5 voter verifiable paper audit trail systems had to be replaced during the second phase polling, for which 5,800 polling personnel and 8,600 security men were deployed.

The counting of votes in Manipur will be taken up on 11 March, along with four other states — Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Uttar Pradesh, where Assembly polls were held.

The election authorities seized Rs 35.40 lakh cash, liquor worth Rs 22.85 lakh and 252 kg of drugs worth Rs 2.46 crore from people trying to influence voters during the last phase.

In the previous phase, Rs 1.93 crore in cash, liquor worth Rs 77.38 lakh and 109 kg of drugs worth Rs 76.02 lakh
were seized.

Jain said the 53.6 percent of licensed guns were deposited with the authorities as part of preventive action.

Meanwhile, he said that Rs 20 lakh ex-gratia have been granted to the kin of a booth-level officer who died in a bomb explosion while on poll duty yesterday in Aishi village of Ukhrul district.

With inputs from PTI

Updated Date: Mar 10, 2017 23:03 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See

{if $hideJSforEU != 'yes'} {/if}