associate sponsors


Manipur Election 2017: Peaceful repolls reported in eight districts

Imphal: Peaceful repolls were reported in 34 polling stations in eight districts of Manipur on Thursday.

Voters stand in queues at a polling booth in Manipur. PTI

Voters stand in queues at a polling booth in Manipur. PTI

State Chief Election Officer Vivek Kumar Dewangan disclosed that the repolls were being held as per directives of the Election Commission.

There was tight security at the polling stations to ensure that there was no untoward incident.

A total of 12 companies of the central paramilitary forces and 20 companies of the strike force of Manipur were pressed into election duty.

The first phase of polls in the state was held on 4 March. The polling stations where repolls were being held are among the 38 constituencies where elections were held on that day.

Meanwhile, Dewangan said on Thursday that electronic voting machines (EVMs) and polling and security personnel were being brought to the district headquarters using helicopters.

He said that the preliminary report was that 86 percent voters had cast their votes in 22 constituencies that went to polls on Wednesday.

Dewangan said: "The poll figure will increase since reports from the remote polling stations are still awaited."

Once the EVMs and officials reach the headquarters the full figures would be known.

The chief poll officer also hailed the voters who came out in large number. "It is historic and a success of democracy. The turnout was highest and polling, by and large, was peaceful," Dewangan said.

Sources say that leaders of the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party -- the major players, have started chalking out post-poll alliances in case they do not secure absolute majority.

There are 60 seats in the Manipur Assembly. BJP is contesting all seats while the ruling Congress fielded 59 candidates.

Updated Date: Mar 09, 2017 14:07 PM

Also Watch

Firstpost in Russia: Moscow to St. Petersburg, on a free World Cup train
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 Social Media Star: Richa Chadha, Kunal Kamra talk about their political views, and why they speak their mind
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 It's A Wrap: Swara Bhasker talks about Veere Di Wedding and Twitter trolls, in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Rahul Gandhi turns 48: Congress chief, who once said 'power is poison', should focus on party rather than on 'hate Modi' mission
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 It's A Wrap: Bhavesh Joshi Superhero makers Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane in conversation with Parul Sharma

Also See