Malappuram Lok Sabha seat 2017 bypoll result LIVE: IUML's PK Kunhalikutty set for big win

Auto Refresh Feeds
Malappuram Lok Sabha seat 2017 bypoll result LIVE: IUML's PK Kunhalikutty set for big win
  • 10:21 (IST)

    Kunhalikutty credits secularism for win

    IUML's candidate for the Malappuram Lok Sabha bypoll PK Kunhalikutty came out of his home after establishing a huge lead over rival candidates, and was lifted by jubilant supporters shouting slogans.

    Speaking to the media as supporters egged him, Kunhalikutty said they have led in village councils where the Left is ruling. "This is because the electorate have placed faith in me as I spoke about the need for a secular outlook. Also the unity of the Congress-led-UDF has helped us in this," said Kunhalikutty.

  • 12:42 (IST)

    IUML's PK Kunhalikutty wins Malappuram constituency by over 1.7 lakh votes

    Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) legislator PK Kunhalikutty won the Malappuram by-poll in Kerala on Monday by 171,038 votes. The IUML strongman remained far ahead of his nearest rival — Communist Party of India-Marxist candidate and youth leader MB Faisal throughout the counting process.  The Bharatiya Janata Party candidate N. Sreeprakash came a distant third.

    To read more, click here

  • 10:58 (IST)

    Shashi Tharoor says Malappuram win a message for communal forces

  • 10:13 (IST)

    IUML's lead nearing one lakh

    IUML's candidate PK Kunhalikutty's lead continues growing, and at 91,627 votes, it is nearing the one lakh mark. Kunhalikutty, which contested the election on a secular ticket, has also attributed his success to this factor.

  • 10:07 (IST)

    IUML supporters begin celebrating

  • 10:00 (IST)

    Kunhalikutty stretches lead to over 65,000 votes

    IUML candidate PK Kunhalikutty has extended his lead in the Malappuram Lok Sabha by-election to over 65.000 votes. Though several votes are still to be counted, celebrations have already begun within the party. Speaking to The News Minute, Kunhalikutty said the victory will help boost the profile of the IUML beyond Kerala and in other parts of the country too.

  • 09:51 (IST)

    Kulhanikutty local strongman and elected legislator

    Kunhalikutty has been a sitting legislator in the Kerala state Assembly from Malappuram, and has always been one of the most popular faces of the party om the Muslim-dominated district, which is a particular stronghold of the party and of the Congress-led UDF alliance.

  • 09:48 (IST)

    Kunhalikutty races to big lead

    As per media reports, IUML's PK Kunhalikutty has raced to a lead of nearly 60,000 votes within an hour since counting began on Monday morning. Total number of votes counted as of 9.30 am stands at: 1,64,908 for Kunhalikutty; 1,08,746 for CPM's MB Faizal; and 21,730 for BJP's Sree Prakash.

  • 09:34 (IST)

    Candidates in the fray

    The three major parties which have a chance of clinching the Malappuram Lok Sabha seat are CPM, BJP, and IUML, which is part of the Congress-led UDF alliance. The three parties have put up the following candidates: MB Faizal, Sree Prakash, and PK Kunhalikutty respectively.

  • 09:30 (IST)

    IUML leading in Malappuram bypoll

    The Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) has stormed to an early lead in the Malappuram by-election in Kerala. According to the news agency IANS, IUML candidate PK Kunhalikutty was leading by over 13,000 votes as counting began at 8 am.

Malappuram: Over 68 percent voter turnout was recorded in the bypoll to the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala on Wednesday. According to figures from the Chief Electoral Officer, the turnout at 5 pm stood at 68.40 percent.

The highlight of the poll has been that the voting has passed without any problems at all, even though all three rival fronts had engaged in a keen election campaign.

Representational image

Representational image

The election was called after the death of sitting MP, E Ahamed of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) leader. The IUML has fielded former Kerala Industries Minister PK Kunhalikutty, a sitting legislator and one of the most popular faces of the party.

The Communist Party of India-Marxist has fielded local body member and youth leader MB Faizal and the Bharatiya Janata Party has brought in Sree Prakash.

Soon after casting his vote, Kunhalikutty said the party's victory margin was set to go up and as the voting ended, he said that the increase in turnout will ensure that the margin of the victory would be better.

Faizal said the response from the electorate was positive and they expected secularism to turn out to be victorious.

Senior CPM leader TK Hamza said that whichever candidate (IUML or CPM) wins, the margin of victory would be very narrow.

Sree Prakash said the BJP had made inroads in the constituency and broken several barriers that prevailed in Malappuram.

Malappuram district is an IUML citadel and Ahamed won the 2014 polls with a record margin of 1.94 lakh votes. But during the 2016 Assembly elections, the margin of the IUML legislators, who won in all the seven Assembly constituencies, came down to 1.18 lakh votes.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Apr 17, 2017 10:56:35 IST

Also See