Himachal Pradesh Assembly Election 2017: 275 nominations filed on the last day; voting on 9 November

Shimla: As many as 275 candidates, including former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, on Monday filed their nomination for the 9 November Himachal Pradesh Assembly polls.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

With this, the total number of nominations filed for the polls went up to 479.

Monday was the last day for filing nominations.

In all, 119 candidates filed nomination for 15 seats in Kangra, 74 candidates for 10 seats in Mandi, 64 for eight seats in Shimla, 41 for five seats in Hamirpur, 28 for five seats in Chamba, 29 for five seats in Solan.

Twenty seven candidates filed their nomination for five seats in Sirmaur, 47 for five seats in Una, 17 for four seats in Bilaspur, 23 for four seats in Kullu, five each for one seat in Lahaul and Spiti, and Kinnaur constituencies.

Earlier on Monday, Congress leader Deepak Rathore had filed his nomination from Theog seat, but the party later announced that veteran leader and Irrigation and Public Health Minister Vidya Stokes (89) would be the official candidate.

She filed her nomination from Theog in Shimla district.

Stokes had left the seat for Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, but he shifted to Arki and she was asked by the party high command to contest from Theog, HPCC president Sukhvinder Singh Sukkhu said.

Stokes has contested assembly polls ten times since 1974 and lost twice in 1977 and 1993.

Dhumal filed his nomination from Sujanpur; Sukku entered the fray from Nadaun, while Vikramaditya Singh filed his papers from Shimla (Rural) constituency, vacated by his father Virbhadra Singh.

Former minister Anil Sharma, son of former Union communication minister Sukh Ram who recently joined the BJP, also filed his nomination from Mandi (Sadar) and Deputy Speaker Jagat Singh Negi from Kinnaur.

Over two dozen rebel leaders of the Congress and the BJP who were denied tickets also joined the fray as independents.

Updated Date: Oct 24, 2017 07:50 AM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See