Assembly Elections 2017 Results: Here's a list of the big wins in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa, Manipur and Punjab

The BJP cruised towards victory on Saturday in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, while the Congress brutally brushed aside the AAP in Punjab as officials counted the millions of votes polled in the five-state Assembly election. Meanwhile, the Congress is leading in Manipur and Goa.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

Proving wrong fears of a hung Assembly in Uttar Pradesh, the BJP, with its aggressive campaign led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is leading in 312 of the 379 seats.

The ruling Samajwadi Party and its ally Congress trailed at a poor second spot (54 seats) while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) was gasping at 19 seats.

Here's a look at the major wins:

Uttar Pradesh

BJP's Rita Bahujuna Joshi defeated Mulayam Singh Yadav's daughter-in-law Aparna Yadav by a margin of 33,796 votes in Lucknow Cantt seat. Samajwadi Party leader Shivpal Singh Yadav on Saturday won the Jaswantnagar seat by over 52,000 votes.

Garima Singh of the BJP defeated Gayatri Prajapati of the SP by a margin of 4,971 votes in Amethi Sadar seat.

BJP national secretary Siddharth Nath Singh won from Allahabad (West), an assembly segment where the party has not been a force to reckon with until recently. Srikant Sharma of BJP won from Mathura.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh's son Pankaj Singh won the Noida Assembly seat for the BJP, defeating his nearest rival Samajwadi Party candidate Sunil Choudhary by a margin of 1,04,016 votes.

Senior Samajwadi Party leader Azam Khan retained the Rampur city Assembly seat for the ninth time after defeating Shiv Bahadur Saxena of BJP by 47,000 votes. Khan's son Abdullah Azam has also been elected from Swar Tanda constituency. He defeated Nawab Kazim Ali Khan of BSP and BJP's Laxmi Saini.

Among other winners were Neelkanth Tiwari of BJP from Varanasi South, Swami Prasad Maurya of BJP from Padrauna, Swati Singh of BJP from Sarojini Nagar in Lucknow, Mukhtar Ansari of BSP from Mau, Independent candidate Raghuraj Pratap Singh from Kunda, and Independent candidate Aman Mani Tripathi from Nautanwa.


Captain Amarinder Singh of Congress won from Patiala by a margin of more than 51000 votes (Congress). However, Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal defeated him by 22,770 votes in Lambi.

Also, Punjab deputy chief minister Sukhbir Singh Badal won from the Jalalabad seat, defeating AAP candidate Bhagwant Mann by 18,500 votes.

Congress candidate Manpreet Singh Badal, estranged nephew Parkash Singh Badal won from Bathinda Urban seat, defeating AAP candidate Deepak Bansal by 18,480 votes.

Congress candidate Navjot Singh Sidhu has won the Amritsar East seat, defeating nearest rival BJP candidate Rajesh Kumar Honey by 42,809 votes. From Dakha, AAP candidate and noted Supreme Court lawyer H S Phoolka won, defeating his nearest rival Akali candidate Manpreer Singh Ayali by 4,169 votes

Among the winners is Congress candidate and former Indian hockey captain Pargat Singh retained his Jalandhar Cantt seat by defeating Akali candidate Sarabjit Singh Makkar by 29,124 votes.


Congress candidate and former chief minister Digambar Kamat won from Margao. Dayanand Sopte of the Congress defeated Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar of BJP by nearly 5,000 votes. At Poriem, former chief minister and Congress candidate Pratapsingh Rane defeated his BJP rival Vishwajit K Rane.

Francis D'Souza, deputy chief minister was the Mapusa victor, who defeated his MGP rival Vinod Phadke by 6,828 votes. Former State Minister Churchill Alemao made a comeback in the assembly winning from Benaulim on a NCP ticket.


Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh won from Thoubal Assembly seat defeating L Basanta Singh of BJP by 10,400 votes. Rights activist Irom Sharmila, who had contested against the chief minister, finished fourth securing only 90 votes.


Satpal Maharaj of BJP leading from Chaubattakhal. BJP candidate Saurabh Bahuguna, son of Vijay Bahuguna, won Sitarganj, defeating Malti Biswas of the Congress with a margin of 28,540 votes. BJP's Pradip Batra won Roorkee seat, defeating Congress' Suresh Chandra Jain by a margin of 12,542 votes. Mamta Rakesh of the Congress defeated BJP' Subodh Rakesh by 2,513 votes to win Bhagwanpur seat.

With inputs from agencies

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 18:50:58 IST

Also See