Manipur Election 2017: Repolling in 34 polling stations on Thursday

Imphal: The Chief Electoral Officer of Manipur has ordered re-polling in 34 polling stations of eight Assembly constituencies which went to the polls in the first phase on 4 March. The re-poll will take place on 9 March from 7am till 3pm in the 34 polling stations. CEO Manipur Vivekumar Dewangan said re-polling would be held in five polling stations of Andro AC, one each in Uripok, Saikot and Singhat AC, 12 in Saikul, three in Saitu, six in Thanlon and five in Henglep.

 Manipur Election 2017: Repolling in 34 polling stations on Thursday

An election booth. Firstpost.

Re-poll will be held in polling stations 7/17, 7/41, 7/42, 7/43, 7/44, 10/5, 46/1, 46/2, 46/3, 46/5, 46/16, 46/18, 46/21, 46/24, 46/30, 46/42, 46/43, 46/44, 51/2, 51/3, 51/12, 56/2, 56/5, 56/21, 56/26, 56/27, 56/35, 57/13, 57/14, 57/15, 57/18, 57/55, 59/64 and 60/4 . Owing to interference in the polling process and multiple voting, returning officers (ROs) of seven polling stations in Kangpokpi district had recommended re-polling. Four of the polling stations are in Saikul AC and three in Saitu AC.

The four under Saikul, that were recommended for re-polling by returning officer L Geetchandra Singh, included 46/3 Molkon; 46/5 Molkon; 46/24 H Champhai and 46/42 Kamuching while three polling stations under 51-Saitu AC recommended by RO Dr N Johnson Meetei are 51/2 Mayangkhang (A), 51/3 Mayangkhang (B) and 51/12 L Simol.

Molkon polling station 46/3, having 1028 voters, covers four villages including Molkon, Puleijang, Chonjang and Molkon bazar and 46/5 Molkon polling station with 546 voters covers Makeng Ngamneh and C Aisan village. 46/24 H Champhai polling station with 803 voters covers H Champhai, Songphel Lutjachong and N Mollen villages while 46/42 Kamuching polling station with a total of 476 voters are spread in Kamuching, Bewlahland and Kamuching Jang villages.

Mayangkhang (A) polling station 51/2 covering two villages including Mayangkhang and Mayangkhang Khunou has a total of 1082 voters while 51/3 Mayangkhang (B) polling station with 600 voters covers Mayangkhang Ningthoupham. 51/12 L Simol polling station with a total of 476 voters covers nine villages - S Bongjol, Phaijawl, S Vengnom, T Phaimol, Lower Simol, Ch Ollim, L Simol, C Phailen and L Kholkim.

Updated Date: Mar 08, 2017 21:04:03 IST