Co-presented by

Lok Sabha Election Results LIVE 2019

Lok Sabha election: Voting delayed in three Delhi polling booths during phase 6; 164 candidates in fray

New Delhi: Voting began late at some booths in the national capital as the sixth phase of Lok Sabha election got underway on Sunday. The polling was to start at 7 am.

Delhi home minister Satyendar Jain said that voting started 50 minutes late at three polling booths. "Voting started at 7.50 am at 3 booths of Railway Jhuggi, Shakurbasti," he tweeted.

However, there was no immediate response from the Chief Electoral Office.

 Lok Sabha election: Voting delayed in three Delhi polling booths during phase 6; 164 candidates in fray

Representational Image. A polling booth in Odisha. ANI

Shashi Devi, a 58-year-old resident of Mayur Vihar, said that she and her son were made to wait for 20 minutes by officials at a polling booth. "My son and I came to cast our votes to avoid the heat, but after reaching the polling booth at 7 am, we were asked to wait for 20 minutes as officials were still in the process of starting polling," Devi said.

Another voter, Rahul Sharma, had to wait to for half an hour outside the polling booth of his area to cast his vote.

Among the early voters in the national capital were former chief minister Sheila Dikshit, Congress's New Delhi candidate Ajay Maken, Union Minister Harsh Vardhan, BJP's East Delhi candidate Gautam Gambhir, and BJP national general secretary (organisation) Ram Lal.

Over 1.43 crore people in Delhi are eligible to vote in this election which will decide the fate of 164 candidates, of which 18 are women. There are 43 independent candidates.

While 2,54,723 voters are in the age group of 18 and 19, there are 40,532 electorates with a disability who would be provided pick up and drop facility.

Follow LIVE updates on Lok Sabha elections in Delhi here

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: May 12, 2019 12:03:56 IST