Puducherry Assembly poll 2016: CPI releases list of candidates

Puducherry: CPI, a constituent of People's Welfare Alliance (PWA) here, on Thursday announced its candidates for the 16 May Assembly polls.

File image of Puducherry elections. AFP

File image of Puducherry elections. AFP

CPI is contesting from seven constituencies.

Releasing the list at a press conference here, party Puducherry unit Secretary R Viswanathan said he would seek election from Kamaraj Nagar constituency.

The other CPI nominees are AITUC Puducherry unit General Secretary V S Abishegam (Mudaliarpet), K Murugan (Muthialpet), K Sedhuselvam (Thattanchavady), A Devasagayam (Uzhavarkarai), N Mohan alias Veerayyan (Nellithope) and K Tamizhalagan (Neduncadu reserved).

PWA's other partners VCK will contest from seven seats DMDK five, CPI(M) four, MDMK four and RSP one.

PWA would also support two independents.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Apr 21, 2016 17:15:52 IST

Also See