Instagram's Direct Messaging comes with a 'last active' feature; but you can hide it as well

In the Direct messaging option, Instagram will show when you and your friends were online.

A new day and a new update. Instagram has come with another new feature where your friends would be able to check when you were 'last active' on Direct Messaging and likewise.

The Instagram application is seen on a phone screen August 3, 2017. Reuters

The Instagram application is seen on a phone screen. Reuters.

In the Direct Messaging tab, Instagram will show when you and your friends were online. On opening the Direct option, you can scroll down and see who all were active. This is beside the 'seen' option it had introduced to check whether your messages were seen.

For all those who were irritated with WhatsApp's infamous blue ticks which indicated messages had been read, the last active feature on Direct messaging may not be to everyone's liking.

Thankfully, Instagram lets you turn off the last active features.

For this, you have to go to Settings > Show Activity Status and turn off that toggle switch. And voila, no one will be able to know how long ago you were last active on Instagram. Of course, this applies to you as well and you won't be able to see when your friends were last active as well.

According to the TNW, the feature is now in the testing phase and will be rolled out in batches.

User can now toggle off the

User can now toggle off the "last active" option. Instagram.

The last active feature will be available for all Android and iOS devices.

 




Top Stories


also see

science