Narendra Modi oath-taking ceremony: BIMSTEC leaders arrive in New Delhi ahead of proceedings

New Delhi: Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) leaders, including Sri Lankan president Maithripala Sirisena and Bhutanese prime minister Lotay Tshering, arrived in New Delhi on Thursday to attend Prime Minister Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony.

Bangladesh president Abdul Hamid arrived in the national capital last night to participate in the oath-taking ceremony of Modi and the Council of Ministers. This morning, Mauritian prime minister Pravind Jugnauth arrived in India. Jugnauth had recently visited India in January as the chief guest at the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas.

 Narendra Modi oath-taking ceremony: BIMSTEC leaders arrive in New Delhi ahead of proceedings

File image of BIMSTEC leaders, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi. AFP

Bhutanese prime minister Lotay Tshering was also warmly received by Foreign Secretary Vijay Gokhale on his arrival in Delhi. Special Envoy of Thailand, Minister Grisada Boonrach, also arrived this morning.

Myanmar president Win Myint is also here in Delhi to attend the oath-taking ceremony of Modi. Sri Lankan president Maithripala Sirisena has also arrived to attend the glittering ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Capping a landslide election victory, Modi will take oath along with his new council of ministers at 7 pm. The swearing-in ceremony in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan is expected to be a grand affair with more than 6,000 guests, including leaders from the BIMSTEC countries, Opposition leaders Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi, chief ministers, corporate honchos and film stars set to be in attendance as President Ram Nath Kovind administers the oath of office and secrecy to 68-year-old Modi and his ministerial colleagues.

India invited leaders of the BIMSTEC countries as well as Kyrgyz President Jeenbekov, the current chair of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, and Mauritius PM Jugnauth for the Modi's swearing-in.

Besides India, BIMSTEC comprises Bangladesh, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan.

Click here to follow LIVE updates of the Prime Minister's Swearing-In

Updated Date: May 30, 2019 17:34:51 IST