Goa Assembly bypolls: Narendra Modi congratulates Manohar Parrikar, Vishwajit Rane on win

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday congratulated Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar on winning the Panaji Assembly bypoll, which he described as "impressive".

File image of Narendra Modi. PTI

File image of Narendra Modi. PTI

Parrikar, the former defence minister, won by 4803 votes, defeating his rival from Congress Girish Chodankar.

The prime minister also congratulated BJP’s Vishwajit Rane on his electoral victory in Valpoi constituency.

"Congrats to @manoharparrikar & @visrane for the impressive wins in Panaji & Valpoi respectively. I thank the people of Goa for their support," Modi tweeted.

Rane retained his Valpoi seat by defeating his nearest rival Roy Naik of the Congress by 10,066 votes. Rane had resigned as MLA after leaving the Congress.

Click here to get LIVE updates on the Assembly elections

Updated Date: Aug 31, 2017 19:46 PM

Also See