Burari Election Result 2020 LIVE Updates | Delhi Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

Election Result 2020 LIVE | Candidate, Constituency and Party-Wise Winner List

AAP WON Sanjeev Jha 1,39,598 Votes 62.81% Votes
JDU Shailendra Kumar 51,440 Votes 23.14% Votes
SS Dharam Veer 18,044 Votes 8.12% Votes
BSP Ganga Ram 1,869 Votes 0.84% Votes
BSNP Anil Kumar Yadav 1,210 Votes 0.54% Votes
SUCIC Amarjeet Kumar 654 Votes 0.29% Votes
HND Arvind Mishra 285 Votes 0.13% Votes
JAP Awdesh Verma 282 Votes 0.13% Votes
RAMP Usha Gautam 180 Votes 0.08% Votes
AASPS Krishna Mohan Jha 183 Votes 0.08% Votes
RJPS Gulab Singhal 146 Votes 0.07% Votes
RSP Dinesh Kumar Mishra 165 Votes 0.07% Votes
RLD Deepak Gupta 676 Votes 0.3% Votes
RPIA Pankaj Kumar Agrawal 287 Votes 0.13% Votes
RJD Pramod Tyagi 2,278 Votes 1.02% Votes
AAPP Manoj Rai 806 Votes 0.36% Votes
BRP Monu 347 Votes 0.16% Votes
UKD Ranjeet Singh 1,244 Votes 0.56% Votes
SBP Ram Sushil Mishra 456 Votes 0.21% Votes
PPID Shiv Narayan Singh 382 Votes 0.17% Votes
IND Aazad Nafe Singh Rajput 227 Votes 0.1% Votes
IND Shailendra Singh Parihar 291 Votes 0.13% Votes

Delhi Assembly Election 2020, Burari Profile | Aam Aadmi Party's Sanjeev Jha scored a resounding victory in the Burari Assembly constituency. His nearest rival, Janata Dal (United)' s Shailender Kumar recieved over 87,555 votes less than him.

This seat is home to a large number of north Indians migrating to the National Capital in search of a livelihood, ergo, the politics here predictably centers around the inclusivity for migrants and authorisation of illegal settlements. Part of North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, Burari Assembly constituency covers the census town of the same name. Along with other Assembly constituencies of Delhi, Burari went to polls on 8 February. In total, 1.46 crore people were eligible to vote in the election. A total of 13,750 polling stations conducted polling across the National Capital.

Here is a brief profile of Burari

Constituency Name: Burari
Constituency Number: 2
District Name: North East Delhi
Total Electors: 2,88,420
Female Electors: 1,25,500
Male Electors: 1,62,906
Third Gender: 14
Reserved: No

Results in previous elections: The seat came into existence after the delimitation exercise in 2008, and since then the seat has sent a BJP representative once and AAP candidate twice to the Delhi Assembly. In the 2008 polls, BJP's Shri Krishan won the election, however, he could not repeat his performance in the two subsequent polls. Since 2013, AAP's Sanjeev Jha has been the MLA from here.

In 2013, when the AAP contested elections the first time, Jha won by 10,000 votes and in 2015 he defeated Gopal Jha of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by 68,000 votes, securing 63.82 percent of the votes.

This year, however, BJP sharpened its Purvanchali pitch by making Bhojpuri singer and well-known actor, Manoj Tiwari, its state unit president. The party, which is at the power in the Centre, has also brought in a law to regularise the unauthorised colonies — a long-standing demand of the people here — which is likely to be a key talking point in these elections.

Demographics: Considered one of the backwards areas of Delhi, it is home to a large section of Purvanchalis – people from Bihar and Eastern Uttar Pradesh – migrants. Lack of potable drinking water, unauthorised colonies and poor roads are among the key problems faced by residents of this populous area. Burari Assembly constituency comprises Ibrahimpur, Jahangirpuri Resettlement Colony and Nathupura and rural settlements like Mukandpur, Nangli Poona, Jagatpur, Kadipur and Mukhmelpur.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Feb 11, 2020 20:34:15 IST