TR Zeliang seeks to disqualify 10 NPF legislators for absence from emergency state Assembly session

Kohima: Nagaland chief minister TR Zeliang has filed a composite disqualification petition to the state Assembly speaker against ten NPF legislators.

File image of Nagaland chief minister TR Zeliang. Courtesy:

File image of Nagaland chief minister TR Zeliang. Courtesy:

In the petition filed on Friday, Zeliang pleaded that 10 NPF MLAs be declared as disqualified under paragraph 2(1)(b) of the tenth schedule as they absented themselves from the 19 July emergency session of the Assembly, violating the whip of the party.

Zeliang stated that the ten NPF legislators were fully aware of the sitting of the House as proper communication were made to them.

Zeliang was sworn in as the Chief Minister of the state on 19 July after 47 MLAs, including 36 NPF legislators, rebelled against incumbent Shurhozelie Liezietsu.

Zeliang won the trust vote on 21 July. The ten NPF legislators are Kiyanilie Peseyie, Y Vikheho Swu, Chotisuh Sazo, Kuzholuzo Nienu, Yitachu, CL John, Thonwang Konyak, P Longon, R Tohanba and Torechu.

Updated Date: Aug 05, 2017 14:43 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See