Tamil Nadu 2016:DMDK chief Vijayakanth to contest from Ullundurpet

Chennai: Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam chief and Chief Ministerial candidate of the DMDK-PWF front, Vijayakanth will contest from Ullundurpet, shifting from Rishivandiyam constituency where he successfully contested the 2011 Assembly election as an AIADMK ally.


DMDK chief Vijayakanth. IBNLive

This is the second time in a row that Vijayakanth is shifting his constituency. In 2006, in his debut election after founding the party in 2005, he won from Vridhachalam constituency in Cuddalore district. In the subsequent Assembly election, he contested successfully from Rishivandiyam in Villupuram District. Now he has shifted to neighbouring Ullundurpet constituency.

The actor-turned politician is believed to have a good support base of his fans in Cuddalore and Villupuram districts, where all the three constituencies fall.

In a party release, besides its chief Vijayakanth, DMDK named 10 other nominees, including V J P Vincent Jayaraj, who will be contesting from Rishivandiyam.


Sitting MLA L Venkatesan will contest from Villupuram. In Orathanadu, the party has fielded a dentist Dr P Ramanathan.

DMDK has been naming its nominees in a phased manner from 13 April. With today's list it has named candidates for all 104 constituencies allotted to it under the DMDK-PWF alliance.

Updated Date: May 18, 2016 17:48 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See