Co-presented by

Srinagar's Shri Maharaja Hari Singh Hospital attacked; amid chaos, captured LeT terrorist Abu Hanzula escapes

The Shri Maharaja Hari Singh hospital in Srinagar came under attack on Tuesday as terrorists fired shots at the hospital.

The incident took place on Tuesday as policemen were escorting a Pakistani prisoner named Abu Hanzula alias Naveed Jaat to the hospital, reported CNN-News18. The prisoner escaped during the firing and the terrorists too fled the spot.

Two policemen were killed in the firing. The militants opened fire on the police party in Kaka Sarai area of the city, police said. A carbine rifle of one of the cops is also reported missing, the official said. The area has been cordoned off and searches are on to track down the ultras, he added.

The Jammu and Kashmir police confirmed the escape and said that six detainees were being brought from Central Jail. One of them snatched a weapon and fired at the protection party. While Hanzula escaped, the other five detainees were taken by the police to a safe place.

CNN-News18 also reported that the militants had come to rescue Hanzula and were aware of his movement. The militant is part of the Lashkar-e-Toiba and was captured from Shopian a few weeks ago. He had complained of an ailment and was being taken to the hospital for the same.

The incident comes a day after cross-border firing was reported at the Line of Control in Pooncha and Rajouri districts in Jammu and Kashmir on Sunday. An army officer and three jawans were killed, and four people, including two teenagers, were injured.

A defence spokesman had said the Pakistan Army had initiated unprovoked and indiscriminate firing of small arms, automatics, and mortars at around 11.10 am on Sunday. The Indian Army retaliated strongly and effectively, he had said.

With inputs from agencies

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Feb 06, 2018 15:20:31 IST