Rajouri Garden Election Result 2020 LIVE Updates | Delhi Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

Election Result 2020 LIVE | Candidate, Constituency and Party-Wise Winner List

AAP WON A Dhanwati Chandela A 62,212 Votes 55.7% Votes
BJP Ramesh Khanna 39,240 Votes 35.13% Votes
IND Sukhpal Singh 5,218 Votes 4.67% Votes
INC Amandeep Singh Sudan 3,398 Votes 3.04% Votes
BSP Harchint Singh Arora 270 Votes 0.24% Votes
RJP Devender Singh 45 Votes 0.04% Votes
SWP Nand Kishore Goel 73 Votes 0.07% Votes
AAPP Ram Bharosa Gautam 341 Votes 0.31% Votes
IND Iqbal Singh Sonu 109 Votes 0.1% Votes
IND Manish Chandila 88 Votes 0.08% Votes

Delhi Assembly Election 2020, Rajouri Garden Profile: AAP candidate A Dhanwanti Chandela A defeated BJP's Ramesh Khanna by over 22,972 votes.

The upscale Rajouri Garden area of Delhi voted on 8 February to elect its next representative. With over 166 polling stations and over 1.6 lakh voters (2015 estimates), Rajouri Garden has been a crucial seat for all three parties. The AAP has nominated Dhanwati Chandela to fight the poll, while the BJP fielded Ramesh Khanna. The Congress,on the other hand, has given the ticket to Sikh, Amandeep Singh Sudan, an INC national spokesperson.

The incumbent MLA from this seat was Manjinder Singh Sirsa of the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD), an ally of the BJP. However, this time, the constituency will elect a new MLA as the SAD first, announced that it won't contest the Assembly polls; days later it did a u-turn and said that it would ‘support’ the BJP in the polls.

Here's a brief profile of the constituency

Constituency Name: Rajouri Garden
Constituency Number: 27
District Name: West Delhi
Total Electors: 163042
Female Electors: 77127
Male Electors: 85909
Third Gender: 6
Reserved: No

Results in previous elections: The seat remained a Congress bastion until 2013. Veteran leader and former Union minister Ajay Maken held the seat between 1993 and 2003. Between 2003 and 2013, Ramesh Lamba and Dayanand Chandila represented the constituency. However, Congress lost the seat to SAD's Manjinder Singh Sirsa in 2013. In the 2015 polls, Jarnail Singh of the AAP won the seat but he resigned to contest the 2017 Punjab polls. In the ensuing bypolls, Sirsa regained the seat.

Demographics: The Punjabi Hindu and Sikh communities are influential in this constituency, which is a residential and commercial area. The area itself came into existence after the Partition of 1947.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Feb 11, 2020 22:48:35 IST