associate sponsors


Presidential Election 2017: All Andhra Pradesh MLAs exercise their franchise; two votes likely to be invalid

Amaravati: All the 175 MLAs in Andhra Pradesh exercised their franchise in the presidential election on Monday.The polling took place smoothly at the committee hall in the Andhra Pradesh legislature building at Velagapudi.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu and Assembly speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao were the first to cast their votes.The four BJP MLAs also cast their votes along with their ally.

Leader of Opposition and YSR Congress president YS Jaganmohan Reddy led his party MLAs for the voting.However, two of the votes were likely to become invalid since two TDP legislators reportedly wrote their names on the ballot paper.

This came to light after the polling when the chief minister held a meeting with his MLAs, according to TDP sources.

The MP from Narsaraopet, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao, also cast his vote in the Assembly by obtaining special permission from the Election Commission because of personal reasons.

All the 175 MLAs in the AP Assembly, including those of the lone opposition YSRC, pledged their support to the NDA presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

The Congress has four members in Rajya Sabha and none in Lok Sabha and the state Assembly.

Updated Date: Jul 17, 2017 17:23 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See

{if $hideJSforEU != 'yes'} {/if}