Padma Vibushan for Hazarika, no Bharat Ratnas this year

The Padma awards have been announced on the eve of Republic Day, with the government saying that no Bharat Ratnas — the country's highest civilian honour — were awarded this year.

 Padma Vibushan for Hazarika, no Bharat Ratnas this year

Hazarika was one of five recipients of the Padma Vibhushan. AFP

This year 109 award recipients have been announced including one duo case (counted as one) and 14 in the category of Foreigners/ NRIs/ PIOs/ Posthumous.

These comprise 5 Padma Vibhushan, 27 Padma Bhushan and 77 Padma Shri Awards. Nineteen of the award winners are women.

Notable names this year include actor Shabana Azmi, film director Mira Nair and renowned cardiologist Devi Prasad Shetty who have been awarded the Padma Bhushan, while former hockey captain Zafar Iqbal, woman cricket captian Jhulan Goswami and archer Limba Ram were elected for the Padma Shri award. The late Bhupen Hazarika, cartoonist Mario de Miranda, and former Governor TV Rajeshwar among five persons selected for Padma Vibushan award.

The ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; the ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and the ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.

The awards are conferred by the President of India at a function held at Rashtrapati Bhawan sometime around March/April.

A full list of the awards can be found here.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Jan 25, 2012 15:54:53 IST