Mizoram Assembly Election 2018: Congress announces list of 40 candidates for state polls on 28 November

New Delhi: The Congress on Wednesday announced the names of all its candidates for the 28 November Assembly polls in Mizoram, where Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla will contest from two constituencies.

The Central Election Committee (CEC) of the Congress selected the candidates and the party's general secretary in-charge of the CEC, Mukul Wasnik, made the announcement.

File image of Mizoram's chief minister Lal Thanhawla. PTI

File image of Mizoram's chief minister Lal Thanhawla. PTI

Lal Thanhawla will contest from the Champhai South (ST) and Serchhip (ST) seats — both reserved for the Scheduled Tribe (ST) category.

Mizoram is the only north-eastern state and among the few states in the country currently under the Congress rule. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is seeking to oust the Congress from Mizoram.

The nomination-filing process will start on 2 November in the north-eastern state and the last date for filing papers is 9 November.

The 40-member Mizoram Assembly will go to the polls on 28 November and the results will be announced on 11 December.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Nov 08, 2018 19:20:36 IST

Also See