Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma wins South-Tura Assembly bypoll by over 8,400 votes; NPP levels tally with Congress

Shillong: Meghalaya chief minister and NPP president Conrad K Sangma on Monday won the South Tura by-election by defeating his nearest Congress rival Charlotte W Momin by over 8,400 votes, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) F R Kharkongor said. The NPP president secured a total of 13,656 votes of the 22,200 plus total votes polled in South Tura. His closest rival of the Congress, Charlotte W Momin, got 8,421 votes, the CEO said.

File image of Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma. Team 101Reporters

File image of Meghalaya chief minister Conrad Sangma. Team 101Reporters

With Sangma's win the National People's Party has levelled its tally at 20 with the opposition Congress in the 60-member Meghalaya Assembly. The NPP is heading a six-party Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government in the state.

Besides the NPP, the MDA also has the support of the BJP (2), NCP (1) along with the regional parties - United Democratic Party (7), the Peoples Democratic Front (4), the Hill State Peoples Democratic Party (2) and 2 Independents.

Meanwhile, in the Ranikor Assembly seat, the United Democratic Party candidate Pious Marwein is leading over NPP candidate Martin M Danggo by over 3,390 votes. Danggo, who was elected on a Congress ticket for the fifth time in March, resigned in June this year to join the ruling NPP.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Aug 27, 2018 12:21:59 IST

Also See