Kerala to declare nine out of 14 districts as drought-hit, govt to take steps to supply drinking water

Thiruvananthapuram: The Kerala government on Tuesday decided to declare nine of its 14 districts as drought-hit in view of the scarcity of rains, shortage of surface and groundwater and intrusion of saline water.


Representational image. AFP

A meeting of the state disaster management authority presided over by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan decided to declare the districts of Kannur, Alappuzha, Idukki, Kasaragod, Kozhikode, Malappuram, Palakkad, Thrissur and Waynad as drought-hit, an official release said.

The official declaration in this regard would be made by the state relief commissioner, it said.

Besides Vijayan, who is also the authority chairman, Revenue Minister E Chandrasekharan, Agriculture Minister VS Sunil Kumar and Chief Secretary Paul Antony were among those who took part in the meeting.

It was also decided at the meeting that immediate steps would be taken for distribution of drinking water through tankers and kiosks to tide over the drought situation, the release added.

According to the Central Meteorological Department, there was a shortfall of rain during the 2017 North East monsoon that sets in during October-December.

In the hilly Idukki district, presently there was no drought situation. However, it had been included in the list of drought-hit as the main sources of water were expected to dry up as summer intensifies, the release added.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 27, 2018 22:07:05 IST

Also See