Co-presented by

Kashmiri separatist Asiya Andrabi features in 'Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao' banner; govt suspends officer for goof-up

The child development project officer (CDPO) of Anantnag's Breng block has been suspended after a banner on 'Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao' campaign featured separatist leader Asiya Andrabi as an achiever alongside Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti and other personalities.

 Kashmiri separatist Asiya Andrabi features in Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao banner; govt suspends officer for goof-up

Separatist leader Asiya Andrabi (top row second from right) features in a ‘Beti Bachao, Beti Padhao’ campaign poster in J&K. Image credit. Twitter: @rssurjewala

In a major embarrassment for the Jammu and Kashmir government, the banner aimed at highlighting the women achievers of the country was hoisted at a function held to promote education for girls in south Kashmir's Kokernag area.

It also featured tennis star Sania Mirza, legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar and Puducherry Lt Governor Kiran Bedi among others.

"The CDPO, Shamima, has been placed under suspension and an inquiry has been ordered into the incident," Deputy Commissioner Anantnag Mohammad Yunus Malik told PTI.

Akhter later told reporters that Andrabi’s name and image was used “only in her capacity as a religious leader”, Hindustan Times reported.

Following the incident, BJP, which rules the state along with coalition partner PDP, had demanded action against people responsible for the "goof-up", the daily added.

Andrabi, who is currently detained under the Public Safety Act, heads Dukhtaran-e-Millat (daughter of nation) outfit which openly calls for merger of Jammu and Kashmir with Pakistan.

She has several cases registered against her, including some for hoisting Pakistani flag on 14 August and 23 March — the independence day and national day of Pakistan respectively.

With inputs from PTI

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Oct 12, 2017 14:09:20 IST