Sponsored by

ICC Under-19 World Cup 2018: After securing knockout berth, India look to experiment against Zimbabwe

Mount Maunganui: A quarter- final berth already secured, India will be aiming to keep their unbeaten run intact when they take on another weak opponent in Zimbabwe in the ICC Under-19 World Cup.

A confidence-boosting win against past champions Australia and demolition of Papua New Guinea has put India in a comfortable position and they can experiment a bit before the knockout stage.

 ICC Under-19 World Cup 2018: After securing knockout berth, India look to experiment against Zimbabwe

Indian Under-19 captain, Prithvi Shaw has slammed back-to-back half centuries in India's first two matches. Image courtesy: ICC

The only test for the Indians was their tournament-opener against Australia, who they thumped by 100 runs, courtesy an all-round show by the last edition's finalists. Indian fast bowlers Kamlesh Nagrakoti and Shivam Mavi have impressed with their testing pace so far and it remains to be seen if legendary coach Rahul Dravid fields them again or keeps them fresh for the quarter-finals.

Vidarbha bowler Aditya Thakare, called as a cover for an injured Ishan Porel, might get a chance. Porel is nursing a bruised left heal and was replaced by Arshdeep Singh in the match against PNG.

India's bowling unit has looked in complete control with left-arm spinner Anukul Roy complementing his pace colleagues well. India's top-order batsmen, led by skipper Prithvi Shaw, are also in sublime form and are yet to be tested under difficult situations.

They are expected to make merry against Zimbabwe's attack, plundered by the Australians during their seven-wicket win yesterday.Barring an upset win for Zimbabwe, India and Australia will progress to the quarterfinals from Group B.

India will top the Group with their third win a row and will be followed by Australia, who have two wins from three matches. India have not lost to Zimbabwe in any of the four matches so far, with the first contested way back in 2005 during the Afro-Asian Under-19 Cup.

Teams (From):

India: Prithvi Shaw (C), Shubman Gill, Aryan Juyal, Abhishek Sharma, Arshdeep Singh, Harvik Desai, Manjot Kalra, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Pankaj Yadav, Riyan Parag, Himanshu Rana, Anukul Roy, Shivam Mavi, Shiva Singh.

Zimbabwe: Liam Roche (C), Robert Chimhinya, Jonathan Connolly, Alistair Frost, Taun Harrison, Wesley Madhevere, Tanunurwa Makoni, Donald Mlambo, Tinashe Nenhunzi, Nkosilatu Nunu, Kieran Robinson, Jayden Schadendorf and Milton Shumba.

Match starts at 06:30am IST.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Jan 18, 2018 19:07:50 IST

Also See