associate sponsors


Finance Ministry considering proposal to enhance MPLADS funds for parliamentarians

New Delhi: A proposal to enhance the funds given to MPs to carry out development works in their constituencies under the MPLADS is under the consideration of the Finance Ministry but no decision has been taken yet, Lok Sabha was informed on Wednesday.

"There has been a demand to increase the fund. Discussions have taken place in both Houses. A proposal has been sent to the Finance Ministry in this effect. We will inform the House once a decision is taken," Minister for Statistics and Programme Implementation V K Singh said during Question Hour.

He was asked about the proposal to enhance the Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS).

File photo. PTI

File photo. PTI

BJP member Subhash Bhamre said an MLA in Maharashtra gets Rs 2 crore every year to carry out development works in his or her constituency while an MP gets just Rs 5 crore under MPLADS every year for development works in six or seven assembly constituencies under his or her Lok Sabha seat.

Bhamre's demand to enhance the funds under the MPLADS was supported by MPs cutting across party lines, including Rajeev Satav of Congress who said that either the government increase the funds or discontinue the scheme completely.

Under the MPLADS scheme, each MP has the choice of suggesting to the District Collector works to the tune of Rs 5 crore per annum to be taken up in his or her constituency.

Rajya Sabha members can recommend works in one or more districts in the State from where they have been elected. The nominated members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha may select any district from any state for implementation of their choice of work under the scheme.


Updated Date: Mar 09, 2016 13:06 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See

{if $hideJSforEU != 'yes'} {/if}