Congress MLA KB Koliwad unanimously elected as Karnataka Assembly Speaker

Bengaluru: Senior Congress MLA KB Koliwad was on Tuesday unanimously elected as the 20th Speaker of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Koliwad, a five-time MLA from Ranebennur constituency, had filed his nomination on Monday. He had served as Minister in the past.

KB Koliwad. Screengrab from IBN Live

KB Koliwad. Screengrab from IBN Live

Koliwad succeeds Kagodu Thimmappa, who has been inducted into the Ministry as Revenue Minister by Chief Minister Siddaramaih in the recent cabinet rejig.

Siddaramaiah proposed the name of Koliwad while Law and Parliamentary Affairs Minister TB Jayachandra seconded it following which he was elected as Speaker unopposed in a voice vote.

After Deputy Speaker Shivashankar Reddy formally announced Koliwad's election, he was escorted by Siddaramaiah, Opposition Leader Jagadish Shettar and JD(S) leader YSV Datta to the Chair.

Earlier, as the House met for the day, BJP members entered the Well demanding a probe into the alleged site allocation scam involving Bengaluru Development Authority but later relented after the Deputy Speaker asked them to allow the business of election of Speaker.

Congratulating Koliwad, Siddaramaiah thanked Opposition for its support in electing the Speaker unopposed.

Updated Date: Jul 05, 2016 16:58 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See