Congress announces Raghu Sharma's name as candidate for bypoll to Ajmer Lok Sabha seat

New Delhi: Congress chief Rahul Gandhi on Sunday okayed the name of Raghu Sharma, a former MLA from Rajasthan, as the party's candidate for the Ajmer Lok Sabha by-election, AICC general secretary Janardan Dwivedi said.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

Sharma has served as chief whip of the party in the Rajasthan Assembly.

Vivek Dhakar will be the party's candidate for the by-poll to the Mandalgarh Assembly seat in the state.

Pradesh Congress Committee chief and former Union minister Sachin Pilot had unsuccessfully contested from the Ajmer constituency in the 2014 general elections.

Besides, a by-election will be held in the Alwar parliamentary seat on 29 January. The Congress has already nominated Karan Singh Yadav, a former member of Parliament, as its candidate for it.

Updated Date: Jan 07, 2018 21:57 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See