Co-presented by

Chittagong-Tripura pipeline to meet LPG needs in North East may become reality soon: Dharmendra Pradhan

Agartala: The Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas has taken up with Bangladesh for laying a pipeline for carrying natural gas from Chittagong to Tripura to meet the crisis of cooking gas (LPG) in the north-eastern region, oil minister Dharmendra Pradhan said on Monday.

 Chittagong-Tripura pipeline to meet LPG needs in North East may become reality soon: Dharmendra Pradhan

Representational image. Reuters

"We are laying a pipeline for transportation of diesel from Siliguri in West Bengal to Parvatipur in Bangladesh. There is a pipeline for carrying diesel from Numaligarh oil refinery in Assam to Siliguri.

"In exchange, we have given the proposal for a gas pipeline from Chittagong to Tripura. We are pursuing the matter diplomatically and I would also visit Bangladesh soon," Pradhan told reporters in Agartala.

The pipeline if approved by the Bangladesh government would be laid by the side of the rail lines which pass near the India-Bangladesh international border, he said.

Pradhan launched the Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana in Tripura and distributed LPG connection to 20 below poverty line (BPL) families.

In Tripura 9.22 lakh households are having LPG connections and efforts are on to bring 100 percent coverage in the days to come.

The oil minister also laid the foundation for a new grassroots bottling plant in Agartala with 60 TMTPA capacity with an estimated cost of Rs 143 crore which would be completed by 2019.

Pradhan said, now about 4.5 lakh households are covered by the existing bottling plant out of total 9.22 households having LPG connection.

With the completion of the new bottling plant the capacity of supplying LPG would be doubled and most of the households would be covered, he added.

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Aug 07, 2017 15:08:27 IST