Co-presented by

BS Yeddyurappa calls Congress' bribe charge 'nonsense', Ravi Shankar Prasad says party is spinning 'web of lies'

Following the Congress' accusation that BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa was involved in funneling Rs 1,800 crore to several of the party's senior leaders, the BJP has been quick to respond.

Citing a report from The Caravan magazine, Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala had said that former Karnataka chief minister Yeddyurappa had bribed top leadership of the government in 2009. "It (The Caravan report) mentions the names of senior BJP leaders from Rajnath Singh to (Arun) Jaitley. There is an allegation of a bribe of Rs 1,800 crore on the top BJP leadership," he said.

The Caravan's report states that Yeddyurappa made these records in his own handwriting in a Karnataka legislator's 2009 diary in Kannada.

In response, Yeddyurappa took to Twitter and called the Congress' accusations "absolute nonsense, disgusting and desperate." In his tweet, he further urged the Congress to either prove their claim or face a case of defamation.

ANI further quoted the BJP leader as saying:

Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad also responded to the development via press conference. Speaking to the media, he said that Congress has resorted to weaving a web of lies ahead of the general elections.

He said that the income tax department had questioned Congress leader D Shivkumar over the matter, who has rejected them access during raids.

"Will the Congress party now do its politics on false, lies and misrepresentation?" he asked.

He further lashed out at the Congress over Sam Pitroda's questions regarding the toll in the 26 February IAF air strikes in Balakot, and said that his comments reflect the entire Opposition party's policy and thinking.

He also accused Pitroda of demoralising Indian armed forces.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 22, 2019 17:20:24 IST