BJP legislator Rebati Mohan Das elected Tripura Assembly Speaker, seeks cooperation from treasury, Opposition benches

Agartala: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislator Rebati Mohan Das was elected the new speaker of the Tripura Assembly unopposed on Friday.

The 67-year-old trader-turned-Left politician who joined the BJP before the 18 February polls, was elected to the Assembly for the first time from the Pratapgarh constituency.

Das sought cooperation from both the treasury and the Opposition benches.

Chief minister and leader of the House Biplab Kumar Deb and Opposition leader and former Chief Minister Manik Sarkar assured Das of their help in running the House smoothly.

Protem-speaker Ratan Chakraborty conducted the election.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 23, 2018 16:41:46 IST

Also See