BJP leaders Ganeshi Lal and Kummanam Rajasekharan appointed governors of Odisha and Mizoram respectively

New Delhi: BJP leaders Ganeshi Lal and Kummanam Rajasekharan were on Friday appointed as governors of Odisha and Mizoram respectively.

File image of Kummanam Rajasekharan. News18

File image of Kummanam Rajasekharan. News18

According to a Rashtrapati Bhavan communique, Prof Ganeshi Lal will take over as the new governor of Odisha, a post which had fallen vacant in March this year after veteran Naga leader SC Jamir completed his tenure.

Bihar Governor Satya Pal Malik had been given additional charge of Odisha.

Lal is a former Haryana BJP chief.

"The President of India has been pleased to appoint Prof Ganeshi Lal to be the Governor of Odisha with effect from the date he assumes charge of his office," the communique said.

In his second order, the president appointed Kerala BJP chief Kummanam Rajasekharan as the Governor of Mizoram.

He will be replacing Lt General (Retd) Nirbhay Sharma, who is completing his tenure on 28 May, 2018.

Sixty-five-year-old Rajasekharan had given up his government job to became 'pracharak' of the Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh. He was appointed as the state BJP chief in 2015.

Updated Date: May 25, 2018 21:36 PM

Also Watch

Rethinking pornography: Cyber Sexy author Richa Kaul Padte makes the case for decriminalising porn in India
  • Friday, July 27, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Reviewing Tom Cruise's Mission: Impossible - Fallout in 10 questions
  • Friday, July 27, 2018 It's a Wrap: Karwaan stars Dulquer Salmaan, Mithila Palkar in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Friday, July 27, 2018 3 alternatives to WhatsApp | What The App
  • Friday, July 27, 2018 Manika Batra interview: Table Tennis star looks back at Commonwealth Games 2018 success, reveals her diet plan and more

Also See