Sponsored by

Bhubaneswar fire: Health Minister JP Nadda assures support to Odisha govt

Bhubaneswar: Assuring all support to the Odisha govenrment for the treatment of patients affected in the Sum Hospital fire, Health Minister J P Nadda on Wednesday said he was not here for any blame game over the incident which claimed 20 lives.

 Bhubaneswar fire: Health Minister JP Nadda assures support to Odisha govt

File photo of JP Nadda. AFP

"I am not here for blame game. Our priority is proper treatment of patients who have been affected due to the fire at a medical facility two days ago," Nadda told reporters in Bhubaneswar on his arrival at the state capital.

Stating that the Centre would take measures to ensure better treatment of the fire-hit patients, Nadda said the state govenrment had constituted panels for conducting inquiry into the mishap.

The state government should implement fire safety measures at hospitals, said Nadda who is slated to hold discussions with health officials.

The Health Minister and Oil Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, met patients at AIIMS, Bhubaneswar, AMRI Hospital and KIMS Hospital. The two ministers will also visit Sum Hospital where a fire had killed 20 people on Monday evening.

As many as 106 patients have been shifted from the fire-hit private hospital to different places including Capital Hospital, AIIMS, AMRI Hospital, Kalinga Hospital, KIIMS and Hitech Hospital in Bhubaneswar, while some were sent to SCB Medical College and Hospital in Cuttack.

Meanwhile, Director General of Fire Service Binay Behera on Tuesday submitted a report to the state government on the fire that ravaged parts of the private hospital.

Behera in his report has mentioned that fire safety norms as per the 2013 guidelines were not followed by the hospital authorities, an official said.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Oct 19, 2016 12:38:52 IST