Amit Shah in Odisha: BJP chief says Naveen Patnaik is 'tired and lacks will' to work for development

Polosara: BJP president Amit Shah on Sunday called upon the electorate to give "rest" to Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik as he is "tired" and "lacks the will" to develop the state.

 Amit Shah in Odisha: BJP chief says Naveen Patnaik is tired and lacks will to work for development


Shah was addressing a rally in Aska Lok Sabha constituency in Odisha's Ganjam district where polling is slated to be held on 18 April. "There has been no developmental work during Naveen Babu's tenure in 19 years. He is tired. Therefore, give BJP a chance to meet the aspirations of the people," Shah said promising that the BJP will take Odisha on the path of development.

Alleging that the Odisha is being run by the officers, Shah said, "The next BJP government will end 'Babu-dom' in Odisha". He alleged that officers call the shots in the Naveen Patnaik government while the elected MLAs and MPs have no voice.

The BJP national president also came down heavily on the BJD government alleging that it failed to reach the benefits of welfare schemes, launched by the Narendra Modi government at the Centre, to the people of the state.

"The Modi government in the last five years has allocated Rs 5.56 lakh crore for Odisha's development. Did the money reach the people in their villages?" Shah asked. Assuring the people that only the saffron party can ensure better governance in the state, the BJP leader appealed to the people not to repeat the mistake of voting the BJD again.

If the BJP comes to power in Odisha, it will punish people indulging in unlawful activities, including those involved in mining and chitfund scams, he said. Assembly election in Odisha is slated to be held along with Lok Sabha polls in four phases, beginning 11 April. The state has 147 assembly and 21 Lok Sabha seats.

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Apr 07, 2019 16:13:48 IST

Also See