After Rajnath Singh's orders, Delhi police forms SIT to locate JNU missing student

New Delhi: Delhi Police on Thursday constituted a special investigation team (SIT) to trace a missing JNU hostel inmate following a direction from Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh as protests by a section of students raged on in the campus over alleged inaction by authorities.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

"We have formed an SIT under Additional DCP-II(South) Manishi Chandra to probe in the case. We have also informed the SSPs concerned as well as police officers across India and have given out advertisements in newspapers," said Nupur Prasad, Additional DCP-I(South).

The student, Najeeb Ahmed, went missing on Saturday following a brawl on the campus the night before.

"We have also announced a reward of Rs 50,000 for any person who provides information about Najeeb," Prasad said.

Singh called up the Commissioner of Delhi Police and gave the instructions to set up the special team to find the missing student.

Agitating JNU students confined the Vice Chancellor, M Jagadesh Kumar, and about 12 other officials in the university's administrative building on Tuesday afternoon.

The officer said that the JNU administration is also making efforts to trace Najeeb.

Prasad, however, refused to divulge details about the locations where they have searched for Najeeb.

Debunking the kidnapping theory that has been doing the rounds ever since Najeeb went missing, she said, "We haven't got any CCTV footage but an eyewitness saw him going out of the Parthasarathy Rocks area. The family hasn't told us about receiving any ransom call for his release."

She also said that they have seized some medicines, laptop and his phone, which he had left in his hostel room.

Updated Date: Oct 20, 2016 17:26 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See